Help with Transporting Kayak

Hi - I have a 2011 Nissan Xterra ProX (factory crossbars). I am new to kaykaing (well owning one that I need to transport) and I transport my kayak (10’ sit in) on the roof. But I only had it secured with bungee cords. Two around the sides of the kayak and one at the bow and stern. Oh and I have a pool noodle but and put over each crossbar. I do not feel safe transporting it this way. The kayak sways way too much and I’m afraid it is going to go flying off. And if a semi passes me, geez that wind drag scares me! So I need to find another option.

So I have two options I came up with so I need your recommendation :slight_smile:

I am the first to admit the I am not a strong girl by any means. If I am meeting a group to kayak it is easy to get the kayak onto the roof so I have someone to help me lift it. But if I go alone (which I do at least half the time) it is a pain in the butt to get my kayak on the roof. I can’t lift my kayak over my head. So seriously what I do is throw a moving blanket up on the back of the Xterra. I then have a step stool (that I have to take with to the lake) and I set the tip of the kayak on the back of the Xterra, then grap the back and go up the step stool and just push the kayak onto the roof. Same procedure getting it down. Yes I do realize I look like a fool doing this at the lake but I have no other way to get it on my roof! And, maybe as I kayak more I will built more upper body strength :slight_smile:

Ok so for my options, I don’t feel safe taking the kayak anyplace just bungeeing it on again. And, yes I did see the Thule Hullavator which appears kinda cool, but I am not spending $550+ for this!