Help withe Portables

-- Last Updated: Sep-17-14 6:49 PM EST --

Hello out there
I'm just getting started and need some advice from anyone who might have insight to my problem. I need a very portable but trustworthy kayak to take on trips with my 5th wheel. I have been looking at the folding porta boat, folding kayak, and inflatable kayaks. I'm now leaning toward an inflatable. I am 6' 270 lbs. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

suggestions

– Last Updated: Sep-17-14 8:18 PM EST –

One caution on inflatables: unless you get the type that have a rigid "spine" (a sort of metal backbone that reinforces the keel) you may find at your size that the boat becomes difficult to paddle because the weight concentrated in the center deflects the hull and raises the bow and stern.

Have you looked at Pakboat kayaks? They are sort of a hybrid in having a breakdown aluminum frame plus inflatable sponson tubes along the sides that add flotation and tension the skin. Well built boats that are easy to set up and very comfortable to paddle. Mid range pricing, too, and more versatile than a lot of inflatables.

It would be helpful to know what sort of waters you are considering for paddling in which regions of the country. That will have a lot of bearing on which models of kayak you should look at. And what is your optimal budget?

There is also a forum site like this one that is strictly for folding and inflatable boats that might offer you some insights on various models: http://www.foldingkayaks.org

inflatable
Thanks for the info. I have not heard of these kayaks. They look very interesting. I will be anywhere in the south, Fl, Al. mainly. Marsh water to lakes. The key is it has to be safe, fit my camper, and able to support my weight. While I will be fishing, it will be used just as much for site seeing and exercise. I plan on getting something for home use too. Maybe a nucanoe.

How about putting a rack on the trailer?