Hi all AEROLITE

A friend of mine is currently paddling a p&h capella rm and has taken a keen interest in the new aerolite boats. I have very little knowledge as to these products. Can anyone help out with some of their own expierences with aerolite kayaks?

such as speed, weight, difficulties of repair?

An outfitter in our area just advertised low prices for the aerolite kayaks and he is interested in trying them out. On our message board ppl have some question…I will post a link on our board to here for some of our local kayakers…maybe you guys can help us out?? Thanks.

jim

All I know is that aerolite
does not take impact as well as polyethelene. So for rock gardening it’s poly.

that and higher cost might be…
…the only drawbacks. It is more durable than 'glass, will not “oilcan”, and is more resistant to radiant heat & UV than poly, and it looks great. Biggest advantage is lower weight, although in some models this does not seem to hold true. It may not be worth the extra money to most shoppers yet, but as this type of material becomes more prevalent, I’ll bet the cost will get closer to poly.

A lot of dealers have been reluctant to stock these boats, some simply because it is still considered a “new” material & they are taking a “wait-and-see” approach. But at least one I spoke with said: “I haven’t found anyone who wanted one yet.” I respectfully suggested “Maybe they just don’t know they want one.”

not really
lighter weight,it’s half way to the cost of glass but closer to the weight of poly in the bigger boats,actually weigh a thermoplastic Eclipse or Carolina,don’t go by the published numbers.

There are a few Sonoma13 with split seams,which is a shame because it’s actually a decent hull. The first production Eclipse/Carolina had inadequate seat hangers that would rip out,that was fixed but the dealers are left with the customer service issues for a “NEW”“BETTER”“LIGHTER” kayak that costs close to $2000.