High-end solo or C-1 for normal use

String’s post about solo vs. Tandem performance inspired me to go ahead and ask my question. I have zero experience with C-1’s but have seen a few in use and love the design.

Here is my question please: I am determined to buy a nice solo boat next spring. Fast and good tracker. Flat water and river class 1 or 2 max as needed for light tripping. I love the lines of the voyager and think that’s the one I want but what about just sinking a little more for a C-1 like the J-203?

Would I be wearing out the skin composite of this boat using it all the ime? Can they handle it? Obviously I am not talking about dragging it over sand and rocks etc. but it would get used weekly and get bumped, banged, scuffed… Whatever. I would also want to overnight in it though. Pack it like my CH17 kayak. Are they suitable please? They are such rockets!

Should I just stick to a more “traditional” hull like the voyager?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

If I had a grand to spend
On a good flatwater, light creeking boat I would seriously look at the used Hemlock Peregrine that Hemlock has for sale. Nothing against the Wenonah, it is a great boat. I just really like the looks of the Hemlock and I think it would be very fast.

http://www.hemlockcanoe.com/used_&_demo.html

To see the pictures just go to hemlockcanoe.com

Nice looking boats.
Thanks Sloop.

Here in Michigan