High visibility kayak colors

I am about to purchase my first Kayak and I’m new to the sport.

What is the best choice for the colors of my new boat for HIGH VISIBILITY?

yellow and lime green
Yellow is a nice classic color with good visibility. Lime green is a newer color for kayaks but from my personal opinion, it is the most striking color from a visibility standpoint.

yeah
yellow, orange, lime green, red

I personally have yellow and love the sporty look

I Know You Didn’t Ask About This…
but some of us choose to purchase a color that’s easier on the eyes and get bright, highly visible pfd, shirt, hat, and paddle blades. If you plan to spend many hours in a kayak, a bright color may be irritating. Anyway… quite a few people on this message board do this and no one’s been run over that I’m aware of.

Colors
3 years ago when I bought my boat I did some reasearch on visibility. The Coast Guard recommends "bright yellow, lime green or bright red. The dark colors or the pretty mottled blue and sunset patterns are referred to as “SPEED BUMPS”

Be careful! Have a wonderful time.

Well…
Seeing as how I buy most of my kayaks “certified pre owned,” color was never really an option. If I had my way on a custom order boat, I say HOT pink is the way to go!!! Nothing screams for more attention on the water. :slight_smile: But given that is not usually a color option for most manufacturers (I think PH has like a pink/purple color for the Vela), I would say Yellow is the most visible followed by lime green and bright red. :slight_smile:

sing

I’m with kudzu on this one
My new boat is a periwinkle shade of blue - probably not the most visible. But I think I more than make up for it with the colors of my gear. I’m also putting reflective tape on my paddle and the hull. I’d been thinking of getting my boat in lime green or orange but I think I’m going to be a lot happier with a less shocking color in front of me.

I agree on life jacket color too!!!