Hip Pads

Looking for paddlers input on Hip Pad options.

I use Salamander Pro Hip Snaps in my whitewater boats, Wildwasser Rite-Fits in my sea kayaks (works very well on composite seats) but I seem to recall Air Core hip pads a number of years ago that were made of heavy denier nylon w/ an inflation bulb and hosing. Worked well but doesn’t seem to exist anymore.

I’m looking for other hip pad kits other than the old tried and true shave and trim minicell & glue.

Any other aftermarket hip pad systems out there that have worked well?

See you on the water,

Marshall

www.the-river-connection.com

Air Core…
Those were a nice gimmicky concept that Dagger put in their boats. My whitewater boat has those and although they are nice and soft, that stupid inflatable bulb broke off almost immediately. Nice concept, poor execution.

Here’s a link to various hip pads although I’ve always been a foam and glue kind of guy so I have no firsthand experience with these.

http://kayakoutfitting.com/hips/index.html

hip pads
I use Voyageur F.A.T. hip pads, they are the same ones on Wavesport whitewater boats.

Chow

Yep, silly bulb.
Ran into the bulb falling off too. Had to add another clamp to make sure it stayed put.

Thanks for the link. Familiar with those or have those options.

Seeing what else is out there. Have to go look at the FAT pads in Wavesport.

See you on the water,

Marshall

Tear them out
After reading posts by Flatpick and others I took the hip pads out of my Tempest. Nice pads, well made, comfortable but I don’t see the need to lock your hips into a sea kayak.

Getting rid of the hip pads allows for a lot easier torso rotation for forward stroke, sweeps, stern rudders, getting into the day hatch, etc. And you can wiggle over a bit if you are paddling cross wind.

But whatever floats your boat…

Feathercraft Hip Fit Kit
Inflatable bladders. Work well in Feathercraft boats. http://feathercraft.com/misc.php#HipFit

Agreed

– Last Updated: Feb-16-06 8:10 PM EST –