Hodgepodge of used solos which one

I have posted several threads asking separately about a few used solo canoes recently. I am currently looking for a versatile used solo at hopefully under about $800. I am looking for a light layup so know that is a low ball figure. I can still handle 50+ pounds to load and unload, but have a bad disc. So If I can go light I will.

I see several boats for sale, the Pen 15’, freedom solo, and argosy in RX in the $5-600 range, and an MR Indy, Wenonah encounter in Kevlar in the $1000 range. The RX boats are within 1-3 hours drive one way, but the Kevlar canoes are 7-9 hour drives one way. I might be able to test paddle the Pen 15 and the Argosy, but the others I won’t. These are just the current crop of used boats for sale that I think might work for me. I don’t feel I have to pull the trigger on one right away, but if one does seem promising I certainly would consider doing so.

I’m just trying to figure how they stack up. I have no experience in a dedicated solo so I am relying on the reviews and advice I get here to help me in deciding. I have paddled an old Mohawk fiberglass 16 foot tandem for many years, and now paddle a Kevlar MR explorer solo when paddling alone. I am 5’ 10”, 190# with long arms for my height. I also am a sea kayaker. I will mostly use it for day trips and camping on piedmont rivers and lakes with maybe some class I/II ww in some sections, and low country swamps. I also might take it to the everglades, and SC coastal environs camping. I am finding I enjoy developing my paddle strokes in our 3 acre farm pond and just dancing some with the canoe. I know that one boat can’t do it all well so will be satisfied with a compromise (maybe). I figure it is time to get a solo in the near future if I find a good canoe for a good price. Thanks for all the info on this and the other threads I have posted.

Personally,…