Homemade Canoe Problems

I hope someone can help shed light on my canoe issues!

I bought a used 15’ canoe on craigslist for $50. Since I’m a grad student, I’m very happy about it. I’ve taken it out a couple of times, and it floats, paddles very well, tracks super well, and is great in wind and current. Mostly, it’s ugly as hell but a sweet boat. Some specs:

Bottom: mostly flat, or slight shallow arc

Profile: Tumblehome

Rocker: Straight (or none)

Material: Thin wood gunwales, seems like canvas body with fiberglass on outer sides of boat, outside coated in truck bed coating, inside painted in black. The bottom feels flexible.

If you want more details, let me know!

My main problem is there are about three thwarts too many (5 total). You can definitely tell which two came with the boat. No yolk, perhaps that’s why they were put in? There wasn’t a lot of information that came with the boat. You can tell on the starboard side that the natural curve of the boat flattens unnaturally at the points two of the homemade thwarts were added. These two are fastened between the two original thwarts, and between these two new thwarts is a seat that is fastened to the bottom of the boat via two wooden crossbars and two metal bars, and you can see it go through to the outside of the canoe, where there’s was clearly a hole made and then covered over with some kind of sealing goop so it’s water tight. So, question A is will removing the new thwarts compromise the structure of the boat? Question B is will removing them compromise the homemade seat (which I don’t hate…see other questions below)?