Homemade CF GP?

Can you buy carbonfiber in tape form? Like fiberglass tape that can be purchased at local hardware stores?

If so, it should be cheaper than a roll by the sq yd…and would be easier to work with for making a greenland paddle from.

If not, I want to try to make a foam core blank and wrap it up in fiberglass, though uglier.

I am a novice when it comes to glass, resin, etc. but I’ll try anything once… not shure how many layers to lay on, but that will become more clear as the project rolls on.

If nothing else, i will wind up with trash and a little experience.

try John R Sweet
www.johnrsweet.com I just checked their site and they have some 3" tape and some tube that looks interesting. I got some carbon cloth for a repair project I’ve yet to start, they’re easy to deal with. Someone else on this board recommended them to me sometime back.

Good luck

Randy

Carbon GP

– Last Updated: Jul-01-05 12:33 AM EST –

This was discussed recently on the Qajaq USA forum. Duane Strosaker provided some information at http://www.qajaqusa.org/cgi-bin/GreenlandTechniqueForum_config.pl/noframes/read/27723 .

Greg Stamer

Thanks Greg, Randy
Greg, seeing you in the video got me going…

I dig your clip in “this is the sea” best.

I will check the link.

Duane has pictures of his construction
at http://rollordrown.com/kayak/gstick.html. I’ve seen the paddle and it looks very nice. It looks similar to the Superior Carbon stick, but I have not paddled with his------yet.

Go Cheap First…

– Last Updated: Jul-01-05 5:03 AM EST –

use fiberglass, epoxy, and extruded styrofoam (blue stuff from home improvement stores). Your first one will always be experimental and a bit rough around the edges. I would not use expensive carbon fiber for the experiment.