Hornbeck Canoe Paddle-Is 280cm too long

Hello, I picked up a used Hornbeck 10.5’ ft. canoe and 245cm paddle used last year as a package deal. This is my first canoe/kayak, so I am a definitely beginner. I used the canoe/paddle quite a bit last year and can tell it’s a bit small for me. I am about 6’2" and 220 lbs, and have been using the canoe exclusively on lakes. I am trying to decide between a either a 260 or 280cm paddle. None of the stores around here even stock anything bigger than a 240cm, so this will be mail order and I am hoping to get the size right on the first order hopefully. I am really tempted to order a 280cm paddle but am wondering if anybody had tried this, and had an opinion?

Why does the 245 seem too short?

Reason 245cm is too short
I feel that I could have a more natural/comfortable arm/paddle movement w/ a longer paddle. It seems as though I am either keeping the paddle really close to my body and the center of the boat, while having a pretty steep angle as the paddle enters the water. Or, I have to swing my arms/paddle out really far, and use a very shallow stroke. A little longer paddle might get me a more comfortable range of motion?

wrong boat for you
I have paddled the Lost Pond at 50 lbs less than you and the boat is simply too small for you. You are sunk pretty low. That Lost Pond has to be a beast to turn with its cheeks and sharp long double stems ( bow and stern)

Your weight dictates about a 12 foot boat for adequate freeboard.

Now as to paddle length. Why do you feel the 245 is too short? It well may be but you did not say why you thought it was.

canoe too small