How close should you get to the max weig

-- Last Updated: Jul-17-12 3:43 PM EST --

I'm pretty new to kayaking and I'm looking at buying my first used boat. The one I have in mind right now is a Riot Booster 50. I won't be doing a lot of river running at first but I know after a year or so I'll be going all the time. My biggest concern is if this boat is to small. I'll want to be able to river run it and use it as a play boat as well. I'm 5'10 and about 165-170. The max recommended weight on the boat is 181, anyone have any thoughts on if that is too close?

Sizes
In a whitewater kayak, the different sizes(volumes)of the same design usually mean trading stability and buoyancy for maneuverability and control. Playboaters like smaller boats that they can throw around and bury the ends. Creekers like bigger boats that’ll stay on top of the rough stuff. With a river-running design, if you fit in more than one size, the smaller size will be more playful and the larger will be more forgiving.

So if you’re at the top of the weight range, the kayak will usually be less stable, have less reserve buoyancy, be easier to edge, and generally be more responsive.

Just as an example, here’s how one manufacturer lists weight ranges by ability for a particular model:

Recommended Weight Ranges:

Beginner- 140-210

Intermediate- 170-230

Advanced- 190-250

Good info from angstrom, now go demo
the next larger Booster.

Depends on how good you get.
Depends on how good a paddler you are and the rivers you want to run. There are guys who play in class 4 and others who take creek boats down the same water and are happy to survive. Next year you’ll know how good you are and whether you need a river runner to run “those” rivers or you are comfortable in your play boat.

Similar advice from a manufacturer