How do I evaluate a river?

I’m an absolute beginner but I got into canoeing for one reason: An overwhelming desire to float 10 miles of the nearest river from my hometown downstream to another small town.

I have no idea why, can’t explain it even to myself, except that it’s been in the back of my mind for years.

I don’t have much expierence canoeing, none on rivers.

I’ve never even seen a canoe on the river I want to run. The river is a medium sized river not 1/4th as wide as the Missouri, down inbetween 25-35ft nearly sheer banks on either side. The river’s got a lot of sandbars, some really deep holes and some places only 5-8 feet deep on a normal not flooded day. The river has lots of twists and bends making the 10 miles by road closer to 15 miles. I haven’t personally walked and examined every foot of the river because it’s crop land on either side right up to each bank. In most places there’s a small line of trees along the bank and frequently trees crumble into the river,so it’s sometimes full of wood.

I’ve vistited the sections near town and after really heavy rains when the waters finally go down it’s usually clearest debris wise. Is that the best time to try the river?

It doesn’t sound that pleasant, not as I write it out, but it really is a beautiful river. My question is - is it possible to look at recent arial photos and access the conditions? Once I get more expierence on lakes and a few smaller streams should I just go for it? How do others approach an unknown river when you have only yourself?

Thanks.

Sounds like an interesting paddle

– Last Updated: Dec-09-07 5:39 AM EST –

We did a couple of them like that when we were up in AK.

If the current is such that you can paddle against it if you have to return because of some impediment that you can't get over or around, you should have no problem.

My criteria would be:
-do it in the summer