How do you find places to camp that you can paddle to?

I have several thousand miles of backpacking experience but I’m new to kayaking. I would love to pack my gear in my boat and set off to a campsite that can only be accessed from the water. How should I go about looking for spots? I’ve tried some usual suspects (sea kayaking guidebook, gazetteer, etc) but it’s not turning up much. I’m especially interested in something local to me (SE Massachusetts) that I could go to over a weekend. I also know about MITA and have big dreams, but for now, the Maine Island trail is beyond my skill level and frankly, too far for a weekend trip. Anything in MA, RI, or southern VT or NH would be accessible to me. So, where should I look?

NB: I’m comfortable with stealth camping but I’m not sure if the approach via water is different from hiking.

I would like to go here:

Umbagog Lake State Park

But a bit far for me. Search the forums for it, some people have reported about it.

Also you might be interested in the awesome report by @dcoimbra on his trip down the Saco River.

Paddling the Saco River

It is also included in the Go Paddle app.

It’s a very long drive for you, but Utah and western Colorado have amazing places to paddle camp.
Amazing places to backpack too.

Thanks for the recs but perhaps I should clarify. I’m more looking for reference or guidebooks than specific information. For instance, in the backpacking world AMC publishes trail guides that include information about remote backcountry campsites. I haven’t found any obvious equivalent resources for paddling but I thought there might be some niche publishers or information out there that I haven’t been able to find yet. Definitely putting those other spots on my list though.

The Northern Forest Canoe Trail (northernforestcanoetrail.org) has some of the resources you’re looking for, but slightly out of your preferred area.

1 Like