How does a torque wrench "know"

…when it has reached the dialed amount of torque? And how fragile is that internal device?

Despite having lots of experience wrenching on bicycles and other gear, I am a newbie with a torque wrench. The instructions are pretty simple, but they leave me wondering just HOW DOES IT KNOW when to give the signal to you? Is there a spring inside? The instructions state that the characteristic click signal may not occur when using it at low torque settings.

The kayaking connection: I am assembling a new trailer and the manual calls for using a torque wrench. And I already dropped the $80 torque wrench, though only the distance from my truck bumper to the garage floor. :frowning: That’s why I asked about fragility.

Short answer: I don’t know…
…but from the torque wrenches I have used, there is simply a calibrated beam that deflects a known amount under a given bending load.

In other words, you could make a bathroom scale out of a 2x12 and a yard stick. You just have to calibrate the deflection of the 2x12 to a certain number of pounds.

The digital ones have a little device that measures the bend in the wrench and converts that to a torque.

$0.02

D

long story short
there is a little man in there

google is your friend…
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torque_wrench

Used one today
to torque cyliner heads on a Detroit to 190 lbs/ft. Important to stop pulling after you hear the first click…

I doubt if you hurt it
I use mine all the time on my travel trailer.

You should be able to check it, by torquing your trailer wheels.

Set it to some where between 80 and ninty FT/pounds, and then try to tighten a few of the lugs. You should hear the click on most of them around that.

Then loosen one and reset the wrench to about forty, and you should hear the click with not much pressure at all on it.

Mine has a ratchet in it that prevents you from going over the set value, and it will just keep clicking with out tightening the lug any more

jack L