How Far Can I Paddle?

Hope this isn’t a really dumb question.

First off, I know the answer to the question above is VERY subjective and also changes based on lots of variables. But I’m hoping there’s some “average” answer that might help me plan my day-trip distances. Here’s some of the variables that might help with coming up with an answer:

I’m a woman (5’3" 140#) in her late 60s in pretty good physical condition. I’m new to kayaking (been out a total of 5 times, one of which was a 4-hour kayaking class). I have an Ocean Kayak Venus 11 and an AquaBound Stingray carbon/carbon paddle. I usually paddle solo.

I currently try to plan my day-trips on Sarasota Bay for days when boat traffic, wind, and waves are at their lowest. Of course, I realize any or all of those things can change unexpectedly mid-trip.

Right now, in the Summer heat, I find that I’m ready to head back to my launch spot after a couple of hours - not because I’m too tired to paddle any more, but because I’m too HOT to paddle any more (even with my feet dangling over the side in the 85+ degree water). I’m looking forward to Fall, Winter, and Spring, when the sun and humidity won’t be quite so intense and I can stay out longer. The trade-off is that there’s more traffic on the water during the cooler months.

So the question is how far can I reasonably expect to paddle in a day trip? And I’m asking because there are lots of destinations in the bay (bird rookeries, interesting islands, etc.) that turn out to be somewhere around a 4-6 mile round trip. I will probably paddle pretty intensely on the way out because I’ll want to get to my destination relatively quickly to have time there for leisurely paddling and taking pictures. Obviously, I don’t want to get really far from my launch site and then find I am exhausted.

So, any ideas for how to judge this (other than the obvious and time-consuming method of going on longer and longer trips until I know my endurance)?