How far can you comfortably paddle a

SUP board? Looks like it would be difficult to do more than a couple of hours.

Good discussion topic. Off Hawaii,
they race SUPs in moderately heavy seas for fairly long distances. But hours? I used to be able to run for an hour, but not two.

This guy would tell you…
a lot longer than a couple of hours.

http://www.davecornthwaite.com/

Ok, he’s probably the exception, but I’m relatively new to SUPing, and I don’t know why you couldn’t paddle a SUP similar to a canoe or kayak. I don’t think in most cases people paddle anything hour after hour without some breaks.

I read of
a lady who was going SUP the Ghanges River for a distance of 700 miles. As I recall she was doing this as the final activity in her life due to terminal cancer. I haven’t followed her story though so I’m not sure of the outcome.

as far as I wanted to
so far, anyway. Any longer and I would have exceeded the rental time limit and had to pay more money.

some dude
Just set the 24 hr distance record on one. Shane Perrin has done the MR340 and the Texas water safari on one. I would guess it is about as comfortable as it is in a boat.

As a rec paddler, seems like as long as you can stand up. For office dwellers that wouldn’t be much more than a few hours.

Ryan L.

well…
I can usually get a few hundred yards before I fall off.

thats

– Last Updated: Jul-03-12 5:16 PM EST –

a few hundred yards further than I can manage. I've tried SUP twice and can't even get on the board.

Maybe I should have stuck with diving-- I never had to worry about balance.

These
guys went 2000 miles in 90 days. A few 30+ mile days of paddling if I recall correctly. http://www.supthecoast.com/index.html

It’s like anything else, learn how to do it, do it enough and it gets easier.