How long can you paddle a kayak?

I realize age,physical fitness,type of yak all need to be considered but i just want to get a general ideal.

There is a particular part of river that is remote with little access,its about a 3mi stretch of very slow moving water that ends at a dam.You must put in at point(A)and take out at point(A)think its doable?or am i in for a long day as i am a beginner.

I have a pungo 120 duralite.

sounds do-able
How slow is slow? Let’s say for the sake of argument that it’s REALLY slow. If you paddle 3 m.p.h., at three miles, that should take you less than an hour going down stream, and more than an hour going up stream. If the river is faster, adjust times accordingly.

What kind of a dam is “a dam”? A low head dam? If so, I trust you know the dangers involved.

Also on the subject of safety, you describe yourself as a beginner. Do you have first hand experience capsizing? pumping your boat out and getting back in on the water? dealing with the effects of hypothermia? Some people will say you shouldn’t paddle alone until you have successfullly answered these questions. Instruction is good too.

Take a lunch and a hammock
you will have time to use them both if you are in shape to do all the things your profile says you do…

I’m 56, (okay shape but I don’t race) and can do 20 mile days on open water lakes…just take your time and don’t make it a race…paddle, use a slow steady pace, stop for lunch, take a nap, then paddle back…

How Long?
I agree with the other post. You can do it. Any on the water activity requires planning and common sense. You ask an intelligent question. Have fun. VF

How long
Yeah,its doable. I’d recommend a few things.

Go with a buddy

Don’t go after a heavy rain.

Know the forecast,especially wind direction

and force.

From what I’ve heard, those Pungos are good paddling boats. If it gets too tough,you can always turn around!

You can do it

– Last Updated: Mar-05-08 4:06 PM EST –

if you set your mind to it.