How long does it take?

I’ve been paddling now for about 6 months. Solo canoe. I’ve been on 4 class I (II) trips where the water was moving fast enough to be challenging. I’ve been swimming twice - once when I got flipped by a cypress knee and today when going through an opening in a strainer, using a double blade, and having to paddle vigorously to get through, the blade out of the water caught a branch and the leverage was enough to flip me right out of the boat. Even when I manage to stay in the boat, I’m not happy with my ability to avoid obstacles such as rocks, downed trees and other such nasties.

I try to practice my strokes with a single blade, a single bent shaft, and the double blade on flat water, but it doesn’t seem to translate to moving water.

So how long does is usually take to get proficient, at least in class I/II? I paddle with some great people who give me lots of hints, the most important of which may be getting set up much sooner. I’m curious how long it took you experts to get to the point of being confident that class I/II moving water was no longer a challenge.

Thanks. (Also thanks to my companions who retrieved my boat. All I lost were some clip-on sunglasses).

Doc

a little help
first is of course TIME IN THE BOAT. That will be the MOST important item that everyone on here will tell you. after that it is lok up how to do an axel a post and a christie. They are turns that will improve you imensly. or take a freestyle class. or an introduction to river canoeing class.

You are going to get alot of advise on here. time in the boat time in the boat (and throw that double paddle away)

Liveoutside

How about twenty years or more.
I agree with the above poster.

It takes a long time to learn to read the river, to react accordingly, and to become proficient at WW paddling.

If you can hook up with some one with many years of experience it can shorten your learning curve by quite a bit.