How long is too long for my Camry?

-- Last Updated: Apr-20-09 10:17 PM EST --

Hello I'm a newbie...:). I drive a 1995 Toyota Camry and I'm looking at buying the OK Prowler 13. My car is about 15' long. What would you suggest for a car rack? Is this kayak gonna be too big for my car? In the mean time I will use my old Ford F150 for transport to local lakes but would like to be able to save on gas heading up north this summer. I really don't want to get a trailer. Thanks!

Should be fine
The excellent Yakima Q-Tower system will give you a crossbar spread of 32" on the Camry, which is the same as for my Matrix:

http://s265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/AquaDynology/Misc/?action=view&current=IMGP1743.jpg

I’ve carried everything from 10 to 18-foot kayaks with no problems. Just try to get one of the bulkheads aligned over the saddles (see red markers on photo), and as always, use good straps and bow and stern tiedowns.

Good Luck!

Delphinus

http://www.AquaDynology.com/

With a screen name like mine . . . . . .
Well, since I am now on my SECOND Camry. First one was, surprisingly, a 1998 model (thus the screen name) and then just last year I replaced that one with a 1999 model. I think that I can safely tell you that you are MORE than okay with a 13 foot OK Prowler.

I use a Yakima rack set up. The bars are set at a 30 inch spread from front to back. I have taken 18 foot canoes and 18 foot kayaks on her with no problems at all. I have used J-racks and the regular cradles.

Best regards,

Jeff (jcamry98)

ok to …
carry anything but the USS Missouri …I seriously doubt there,s a canoe or kayak made that can’t be carried safely on the smallest of cars with the exception of a "Smart " car maybe. even big tandem boats rarely seem to exceed 100 #'s

wow…thanks for the great response…
Thanks for the quick response I will check those out…good to know I can use my car for transport…the old F150 is hard on gas…lol. :slight_smile:

overhang can be a beautiful thing