How long should a painter line be?

Is there a formula for how long a painter should be? For instance if the boat is 17 foot tandem. How long should the painter(s) be?

Does it depend on whether it is a ww canoe or tripping canoe or lake canoe, etc.?

How do you determine what length the painters should be and do you put one on BOTH bow and stern?

Sorry for the “basic canoe” questions but I am new to all of this canoe stuff.

Thanks,

Jeff

Mr. James

– Last Updated: Nov-15-08 3:49 PM EST –

Opps! Ah' mean't MR. Jeff...

Ah' usually keep two painters (De Dutch one wit one ear an' de Spaineesh one dat made some kiddie finger paintin' garbage)- about de length o' de boat attached ta both stems. NO knots on de free end. Fer linin' ah' have a longer rope which ah' attach ta linin' holes close ta de cut water or on a bridle - but only waan needed.

FE

You talkin’ 'bout . . .
. . . Van Go? I went to one of his exhibits and got a coffe cup with his ear on it, changes colors when it get warm.

Long enough…

…to reach the bucket.

Buncha wiseacres.
Jeff, my personal preference is thus:

For WW, I have painters that are roughly 3/4 the length of the boat. Half the length would work well.

For flatwater, they are the length of the boat. More often they are used to secure to the shore, so the extra length is needed.

Jim

17 ft Tandem
We paddle a 17 ft tandem and have painters on both ends. Length depends on what type of water you will be on and if you will need to line the canoe through whatever. We paddle lakes & slow rivers with mainly accessable shorelines and use a length of 50’ on each end which seems to be about right for us. We have a Wenonah that has nice bow & stern top cover plates that hold the painters nicely. We leave about 3’ unsecured to grab on to if the need arises. And yes, we each carry a sheath knife on our PFD’s that will cut rope nicely.

Tom

I got one o’ those
The ear disappears when it gets hot.

painter lengths