How many kayaks for roof rack??

I’m just getting into kayacking and am already thinking of the future. I’d love to get my two kids and husband involved. The question is how many kayaks could I fit on a Dodge Grand Caravan with a roof rack and what kind of roof system would you suggest?

We would be buying recreational kayaks. If I couldn’t fit four kayaks, would a tandem kayak be good?

Thanks for any advice…

Caravan
I had a Caravan a few years ago (2000) and the rack had a 125 lb weight rating. I would lash a single rec kayak or canoe directly on the factory rack. For two boats (total weight about 120 lbs.), I used a set of Yakima Low Riders and a Malone J cradle on 58" bars. One boat was flat, one in the J cradle. I thought the Yakimas were very solid.

You will be limited by the weight rating of the factory rack, so check to see what it currently is.

Unless you have multiple little whitewater boats, IMHO the best way to transport more than two boats is a trailer.

You should be able to get 4 on the roof

– Last Updated: Jun-12-05 11:23 AM EST –

using either a Thule or Yakima system. Just use a stacker and or long bars. Here is a pic of 4 kayaks on a Nissan Skylinehttp://forums.canoekayak.com/photopost/showphoto.php?photo=127&password=&sort=1&cat=504&page=1

Check your vehicle manual for roof
weight limitations. Most manuals have a maximum roof loading weight, with or without a rack. Adding additional racks also adds more total weitht. Having said that, I talked to a guy the other day that transported his motorcycle on top of his Saturn with a home made setup.

Don’t…
listen to Tsunamichuck-he’s a known P-Net crazy man. Picture is proof… :^)

Incorrect information Above