How much better is wood than vinyl?

I’m seriously considering upgrading my gunwales to wood. Before I take the plunge let me add, this would not be for cosmetic reasons. I want to add structural integrity to a fiberglass hull. Is it worth the time and money?

Can you tell me how the wood will benefit the hull as compared to typical vinyl?

Thx

Wayne

Some Questions
What’s wrong with the structural integrity as it is? I’ve never seen a canoe with a hull that was too flimsy on account of the gunwales not having adequate strength. Therefore I tend to doubt that there’s much justification for switching to wood with the goal of making the hull stiffer.

I’m no expert, but I’ve never seen a fiberglass canoe with vinyl gunwales. Usually, if the gunwales are not wood, they are aluminum. I’m trying to avoid jumping to conclusions, but it’s not exactly rare for people to think that their Royalex canoe is made of fiberglass (Royalex canoes very commonly have vinyl gunwales), and I don’t know whether you know boat materials or not.

So fill in some blanks. What boat is this that you want to modify, and what is the current problem that you wish to remedy?

I have paddled one glass boat with vinyl
rails. It was an Old Town Canadien cloth layup. When paddled race style it flexed excessively. When following the canoe one could easily see at least 2" of lateral displacement in the rails on each stroke. And the squeaking was also pronounced. I have raced and followed other all cloth canoes with wood rails (3/4x3/4 rounded ash) with no hint of flex. The seats were hung from the rails in both cases.

I suspect you could stiffen the existing vinyl by adding an aluminum angle but that would be strictly experimental.

Wenonah Solo
Plus is advertized for ‘vinyl’ gunwales.

The hull has vinyl covered aluminum gunwales.

Something to think about
If you load your boat from the rear and slide it on the racks, the wood will require constant maintenance.