How much wind acn a tripping canoe

take? We had very gusty wind kicking up 2 foot or more whitecaps on Jocassee Saturday.I would not take my canoe out in those conditions, but I am just learning to paddle canoes.A canoe got swamped when they were caught in the wind.

How much bad water can an experienced canoeist handle?

Depends on the canoe
My experience is most 18’ or larger wilderness trippers will handle waves to 2 feet, although you will be kneeling while paddling in a lot of them in those conditions. Some WT canoes handle higher waves well and those will be the ones you can still feel comfortable paddling while sitting in 2 foot waves. But just because a canoe will handle wind and waves doesn’t mean you should be out there in it. My rule in wilderness travel is if I must move on in those conditions, to stay within 30 feet of the shoreline to be safer.

I think that is a good policy.
That’s why I stayed on shore and went hiking.

Sea Worthy Boats

– Last Updated: Oct-18-04 9:31 AM EST –

I always feel a whole lot safer when I'm with a group, but I'm a big fan of pushing the limits just a bit.

Our Friday conditions at Raystown were a little challenging with 20k winds and a fair bit of chop. We had 6 solo canoers on the water. When we passed the last sheltered point every one of the Bell paddlers turned back, while those in either large Madrivers or expedition style Wenonahs continued on.

You have a Voyager? I just got mine wet for the first time last week-end. I am extremely happy with it. I have all kinds of pimped out outfitting done including having the boat fully bagged out. Pyker tried to roll it and was very close. We found that because of the extreme tumblehome she takes on very little water when recovered.

http://community.webshots.com/photo/201817937/201846350hyWkvZ

http://community.webshots.com/photo/201817937/201885957ETvynZ

I like the bags! I have a cover , but