How old is too old for buying a kayak, need some advice

Ok , folks need some guidance, I am in search of a 3rd kayak for open water , Delaware bay mostly, I will not do trips in it and I am a newbie , weight is not an issue as it will stay at my shore home, now my question is as I have been searching for used ones on FB marketplace I saw 2 that may interest me a a Dagger 15.5 Baja and a 17 ft wilderness tempest I think, both are older the dagger is 20 years old, the wilderness is old but no idea the hatch covers match the boat which I do not see as their current design. I have a riot 14.5 so I am in no rush but it got me thinking how old is to old to buy a yak, I know price is a deciding factor , both are under $700 but has there been a lot of upgrades in the last 20 years? Would I be better waiting for the market to correct itself and buy a new $900 kayak, like a feel free Aventura for example brand new? Any why do folks do such a lousy job describing their yaks when the sell them used.:frowning:

1 Like

To get you in the door. Why do used car sales scream their ads at us?

Shop around you can get glass/composite boats pretty cheap if you know what your looking for.
I got a mint P&H Capella for $650, the ad title just read
“Kayak for sale”

2 Likes

Age itself should not be a determining factor, more so how it was used , stored and maintained.

As an example, this spring we recently sold my wife’s Necky Looksha Sport and it was approx 20 years old. It was in very good/excellent condition. It was always always stored indoors and treated well when used, and it was used a lot. There was no degradation due to age, aside from the bungee cords, which were replaced last year, even the neoprene cockpit covers were like new.

3 Likes

A shop I work at has many plastic sea kayaks around that they bought in the '90s, and composite ones they bought in the '80s. They are stored outdoors on racks that only have partial protection from the sun. They work just fine.