How stable are SOT??

I have been fishing in a sit inside kayak for the past two years and am thinking about purchasing a SOT this spring. Do those of you that use SOT find them to be as stable as a sit inside? I fish in a small 10 ft kayak currently and find it to be comfortable in all conditions on the fresh water lakes I fish on. The only reason I am looking to make a change is for more room for gear and the ability to get at the gear when I need it. Thank you for your input.

Generally…
SOTs are considered more “stable” than SINKs. Reality is that the sense of “stability” is very relative/subjective.

Check out this website and the research tool. There is definitely an SOT out there would meet your criteria. Go go look and test paddle this spring with local shop/outfitter.

http://www.topkayaker.net/KayakData/KayakStats7.asp

sing

I think you’ll be happy with an SOT
I have an SOT (Ocean Kayak Malibu II) and also a few sit-ins (Perception America, Dagger Approach). I fish from all of them, but when I want absolute rock-solid stability for wiggling around and stretch space, it’s the Malibu II I take. I can sit on it sideways, dangling my feet in the water like a kid fishing from a dock. I can turn around, get up on all fours, and root around in the stuff behind the seat. I have helped with rescues by having a friend trapped standing on a rock sit on the front while I paddle her to where her boat was caught. I have loaded it down with my stuff, three other people stuff AND a spare friend on the front in rescues. Great, useful, rock solid stable boat. I’ve even taken it in class II whitewater and it worked beautifully.