How tight should the cockpit be and questions about padding

In my just-acquired older model Avocet RM the seat looked like this one, a foam seat with foam hip pads (not my actual seat but the same kind):

The previous owner was 5" shorter and 30 lbs lighter than I am, and it was too tight for me, pressing uncomfortably against my hips. So I just cut out the hip pads. It feels much more comfortable now, but I’m not sure how to tell if it’s the right degree tight or too loose. Is there any “standard” way it should fit, or is it all about personal comfort?

I’m just beginning to learn edging and bracing. Will I need it tighter as I advance to a more intermediate stage? If so, do I just add a thinner foam hip pad, or something like that?

Thanks!

Well, as often the case the answer is “It Depends”. If you are looking for speed or covering some distance in reasonable conditions then loose is good. Not only for comfort but more so to allow good hip rotation & driving through the hips to the foot pegs. On the other hand if your focus is on dynamic water somewhat tighter is good as that provides a more direct connection from body to boat. Whitewater paddlers tend to be pretty locked in. I’ll let the surfers here chime in on their preferences.

In my case I have about 2 fingers from my hips to the pads. No problem with edging. A bigger issue for me is the big cockpit (Pygmy Arctic Tern 17’) and the thigh braces that are about 2" too far forward. (my error long ago).

If you’re not with a buddy you can bow-brace off of, try a dock, get your hull at 90 degrees to the water using just your hands for support, and see how much butt-sliding is going on – you can simulate edging without necessarily having the skills yet. Consider tightening the backband, and/or the footpegs, to see how different postures affect how dialed-in you feel.