how to get aquaseal off your skin

I used Aquaseal to seal a hole in my laundry hose. It was a 2 yr old tube so I had to pry the dry plug out of the tube…did that, made a mess, and now it’s all over my hands. Soap, acetone, and alcohol has not worked. What does? No help on the tube instructions aside from avoid prolonged contact with skin.

Thanks…Lyn (imagine a nurse with her only spare latex gloves in her kayak)

Not sure what Aqua Seal is …
composed of. If I remember right it smells like a mixture of hexanes, heptane and toluene. It has synthetic rubber dissolved in these volatile solvents and I wonder if it has some kind of crosslinking agent. Not that I am saying this is a good idea, but as a chemist I would first try rubbing and mechanical scrubbing to get it off. If that does not work try finding a source of toluene. (Hobby shops used to sale toluene for removing doping solutions for model airplanes) in a fix gasoline (mostly hydrocarbon mix) might work. The additive chemicals dissolved in gasoline are pretty toxic so I would be careful doing this, do it outside with good ventilation. Rubbing with hot soapy water a long … long time may be the best idea. Call Aquaseal up and ask. Also they must publish a materials safety sheet that explains how to handle spills and contact with skin.

Toluene works dandy
But the acetone should have worked…

no MSDS
online.

I got a quick call back from the company and they basically said it will flake off in a few days. Lesson learned. Also, that it was an ‘executive decision’ not to have the MSDS online. They need a better disclaimer on the tube.

Ironic. I used it to fix the hose to my washing machine, so was less careful (and more desperate).

Thanks for your educated advice! Apparently what makes the stuff so good is that it’s impossible to remove. I’m glad they got back to me before I went sucking gasoline out of my tank.

Lyn

Lawyers, lawyers, Lawyers