How to help a teacher

I am a highschool student in Denmark, WI. Our school co-owns kayaks and gear and introduces kids of all ages to kayaking for low or no cost to the students. The teacher who organizes this spends a lot of his time and money on keeping it going just to teach more kids the joys of the outdoors. I just got back from a weeklong trip he took our group on to the Apostle Islands and we were trying to find some way our group could thank him for what he does for us and all of his other students. Any Suggestions?

Gratitude Is Nice…

– Last Updated: Aug-07-07 9:00 PM EST –

verbal expression and/or a card goes a long way. Even better, picture of the group with individuals signing their names and thoughts.

Pics and cards from teens over the years I have kept while other things have gone into the circular file.

sing

PS. If you feel the need to do more, maybe a simple collection of several dollars for a gift certificate at an outdoor focused store. It's a token but more than sufficient. Your teacher really isn't doing it to get material gain. When you're older, keep in mind the adults that have influenced your life positively and do the same for those coming up.

why not
Organize a time to sort and inspect gear after each trip, then help with any repairs or cleaning.

I’m a scoutleader and believe me, he’ll appreciate it- I spend 10-20 hours after each trip cleaning pots, drying filters, drying tents, and doing repairs and then an entire weekend each summer testing stoves, lanterns and patching tents and canoes.

All my kids are experienced and are careful with gear- imagine what new kids can do to it.

This also helps the new ones understand the importance of maintaining the gear and gives them some insight into what is needed to do it right :slight_smile:

As a teacher, I know what I would want.