How to paddle???

Hello. I am brand new to kayaking as the post subject must suggest. In a sense I am new to being on the water period. So I am almost new to being on water period. Unless you count swimming.

I bought a “Pelican” Kayak for $250. Not sure if it is a great deal or not but it’s what I got. It’s also not a real skinny one either. So I feel it is probably a good beginers Kayak. Also I don’t plan on doing White Water. The biggest I’ll probably go is the Chattahoochee River here in Atlanta. Which to many of you I’m sure is laughable. Then the other places I plan on paddling is down in South Georgia along marshes, swamps, and small rivers.

I took it on a small 103acre lake today then realized there is a lot more to paddling than I thought. I could do ok sometimes and not ok other times.

My question is. Is there information I can find in either a book, online, or video which could get me going in the right direction? In technique and on the river.

Any help is appreciated

Here is a link to my Cardomain where you can view my Kayak on top of my vehicle. http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2285211

Have a great day

Mark

mark
Well, this forum is probably the best start. It’s how I gathered information from other people and then expanded from there. Yes, with books, videos and then, I enrolled in a kayaking class. Not sure if you have any down there, but it would be a good place to learn.

Next I started attending symposiums and just hanging out with other paddlers. The symposiums were huge for learning…the right way. There is so much information out there, and it may seem overwhelming at times, but it seems like you have a grasp on the level of paddling your looking to explore.

Who knows, since your so new to the sport, you may become very serious with the sport down the road, like most of us on this board.

Damon…

Welcome Mark