How to patch a Seals spray skirt?

Hello all.
I have a Seals Spray skirt and I’ve worn a hole in it. The hole itself is small, about the size of a small pea. What’s the best way to patch such a hole?

Ideas?

Is it neoprene or nylon?

round file it.

neoprene

Call or email them and ask for assistance. They are amazingly responsive and helpful. They may even repair it for you.

I think I’ll do that. Have to wait for Monday but that’s only 1 more day.

Gear Lab and others make patch kits. The patch material itself might not matter much, but the aquaseal sealant is good stuff.

2 Likes

I have some aquaseal. I was wondering if that would work, and what I should put over the hole. If it will hold of will the edges peel up?

I have never tried this kind of thing so I have zero knowledge about what to do or how.
I was thinking maybe Brage Cement and Cordura.
Is that a good idea------- or a bone-head one?

If you make the patches round, or at least round cornered, they will be less likely to peel.

1 Like

Every new wetsuit comes with a swatch of same color neoprene. Maybe neoprene sprayskirts should offer the same. Aquaseal, neoprene swatch and maybe thread and needle (if additional reinforcement of the patch edge is wanted) should do it.

I’ve done a few patches. Ugly but functional.

sing

I’m a shoe goo person. I find it much better on sprayskirts than aquaseal which which has to be thinned to be flexible. The aquaseal patches get hard and brittle after a while. I use sprayskirts way beyond their expected life. Sometimes they even manage to keep a little water out of the boat.

1 Like

I applied Aquaseal to close a tear in a wetsuit leg. Despite my doubts about its longevity, the repair held up. I actually wore out the seat of the wetsuit and tossed it away with that Aquaseal blotch still holding strong.