How to plan overnight trip?

I am a newbie and have done the day thing with the family on lakes camping overnight etc. We would like to venture into longer trips such as canoeing rivers from one location to the next camping over night - you know the things that most experienced normal canoeers would do!!! How do I go about planning a trip? I would be taking two children with me.

So 2 adults - 2 children - one canoe - tent - food etc.

The other question and more important - you launch from one location end up in another - How do you get back to your car? Or how do you get up river with all your gear in order to paddle back o your car. If its any help I live in NJ and would be trying to plan this trip in NJ, NY, PA or DE area.

Thank you for any assistance you can give.

Some suggestions…
Join a club in your area. They can help you.

There are many books on this topic. Cliff Jacobson has some good ones.

There’s lots of info on this website that you can start with. You need to spend the time to research.

Make sure your canoe isn’t overloaded. Two adults, 2 kids (what’s their weight and activity level?), and gear require a sizeable boat. An 18’ Prospector is a versatile type that hauls a lot safely.

River paddling requires some different skills. It will be more enjoyable and safer to learn before you go.

Lots of folks have loaded their family and gear into a canoe and headed downriver. Sometimes it works out, but usually the family isn’t crazy about doing it again. If you all prepare, it’s more likely that you’ll want to do it again. It’s also much safer.

You might have noticed that I mentioned the safety factor several times. I would check into classes thru your park district or local college. It’s a good investment.

I hope you and your family decide to river camp. It’s worth the resources it takes to learn how to enjoy it safely.

Pamskee offers good advice