How to tell Kevlar or Royalex or ???

Hi, I’m a newbie canoe owner, and I just bought an old Mad River 18 footer. I think it is from the seventies - it’s called the Voyageur. I found a site that said they made this canoe in Kevlar and Royalex. Can one tell which it is by looking?

Also, the previous owner took out a rotted yoke and replaced it with a flat steel strap that is about 1/8" thk by 1-1/4" wide. Then, he never took the canoe out… hmm. Is this thing gonna work? Will the pressure on the hull bend this thing?

Thanks for the help.

Royalex, or Kevlar?
Look in the holes drilled in the ends for painter lines. These should be just under the deck plates. If the hull material in question is about 1/4" thick and has many layers of different colors, then I think it is Royalex. Often these were grey on the inside, and red (or other colors)on the outside. If the hull is thinner and sounds more stiff and britle when you whack it, it might be a composite (Kevlar/glass) hull. I would replace that steel right now, see www.edscanoe.com.

easy…
If the interior and exterior have a smooth vinyl surface, and the skin of the boat appears to be 1/4" thick, it’s Royalex. If it’s a harder, thinner skin, and the interior of the boat is yellow cloth set up with resin, it’s Kevlar.

Still not sure, go to images.google.com and enter “kevlar canoe” as the search phrase, and you’ll see what the interior of a kevlar boat looks like.

You can replace the steel yoke with a wood one for 'bout $25, and I would. Order a stock replacement yoke and just cut it down to fit.

Kevlar!
OK. Thanks guys - very helpful.

It must be Kevlar. Looks like someone has spray painted the inside gray - upon further inspection, in an area where the paint has chipped off, I see that resin color and fabric. Also there is no way this hull is 1/4" thick. Along the gunwales I see that it is about 1/16" thk.

What materials should be used for small patches?