How to transport kayak?

-- Last Updated: Jun-03-15 9:31 PM EST --

I'm a total noob in need of advice on how to securely transport my Sun Dolohin Aruba 10 kayak on my 2008 Santa Fe with factory installed rack and cross bars. Do I need any additional supports like the J racks I hear about, or will my roof rack suffice? If I use just the roof rack, does the yak go right side up or down? I've also read to get Thule cam straps, but what size and how many? Sorry for all the questions but I have a trip planned early next month with a 3+ hour drive and I want to be sure my kayak doesn't go airborn! Thanks in advance for any and all help!

Say what?
It’s a three hour drive to your pool?

Okay, I’m sorry; I couldn’t resist.

carrying
It can lay directly on the crossbars. Try it first upside down (hull up). That is usually the most secure way UNLESS you find that parts of it hit the roof (depending on how high the crossbars are.) Center the cockpit rim (coaming) between the crossbars. Get two 10’ or 12’ Thule straps (NRS and the L. L. Bean straps are also fine). You can always wrap the excess strap around the rack and tie it off. Also get a hank of heavy braided nylon rope (clothesline weight) or the pre-made rigging lines with metal hooks on them for tying off the bow and stern to the bumpers.

After you have laid the boat on the roof with the bow to the front, loop one strap around the crossbar on one side of the boat and toss both ends over the top of the boat hull. Walk around to the other side of the car and grab the two ends. Tug the loose end (no buckle) until the buckle end is short enough to be about 6 to 8" above the crossbar. Pass just the loose end under the crossbar and bring it up to the buckle and thread it through. Tighten the buckle and then tie off the excess strap end around the rack so it doesn’t flap.