Howdy all, can you answer this for me?

My husband and I have been paddeling mostly whitewater for 2 years now. We’ve learned all of our skills in Inflatable Kayaks, but have just purchased hard kayaks and are enrolled in classes. (Today was our first class actually.) Anyhow, while reading the post on “When is an emergency an emergency” I realise that it is mostly speaking of open water. Anyhow my question is this, and I realise that it may sound ignorant, but since I have not yet rolled (next week I tackle that) I have no way of knowing the answer. I read of rolls failing, and having to wet exit. I can understand that as being an obvious possibility in whitewater due to a pin or shallow water or something, but in open water what is it that could cause a person to not to be able to roll and have to make a wet exit? In my mind, which is obviously unclear on this issue, other than sheer exaustion from numerous attempts due to enormous waves, I just cant see why a person could not do what he knows how to do (roll.) Please forgive my ignorance and enlighten me, I just want to learn :slight_smile:

Waves, wind, illness, injury, panic,
equipment failure…many different things could cause a roll attempt to fail, so the important thing is to be prepared IN CASE.

You never know about those unknown unknowns.

Not rolling when you know how to roll
There are a lot people that will tell you they have a 100 % reliable roll. Even they themselves will tell you they have wet exited for one reason or another. An injury, a sickness, exhaustion, lost paddle, bad timing in consecutive capsizes, ect. There are a lot of stories about people that say they have a bomb proof roll that still end up outside the boat.

Failed rolls.