HX270S VHF Radio

The Standard Horizon HX270S VHF radio seems to be a good radio for the price (128.00 on internet) to me. Can any one comment on this radio in regards to dependablity? Feel free to make any other good, bad, or indifferent comments! Thanks.

Go with Icom
Either the M88 or the M1v. This subject has been cover very well so do a search.—Rich

Agreed
The M1V and M88 are rugged, reliable performers.

I have no experiences with the HX270, but I’ve had five HX460’s fail and know of literally dozens of other failures. While they stand by their warranty and their staff is very helpful, their service is painfully slow (figure on 6+ weeks turnaround). I won’t trust Standard Horizon again until their products prove themselves.

I have one and this will be my 3rd
season with it.

The HX270 is a relatively new model
IIRC, it only came out last year. Do you perhaps have an HX260? They’ve been out for quite a while.

Ray101
Has anyone heard anything about the Raymarine Ray101? From what I understand is that the same level of water proofness as the Icom M88, it has a softer antenna, and takes AA batteries. The Ray101 is not as small as the M88, but the price is almost half. Just curious.

Thanks!

Claims to be fully submersible
It does claim to be fully submersible, does this mean level 8? Any one tried one?

JIS7/IPX7

– Last Updated: Apr-04-05 10:42 AM EST –

The Ray101 seems to have the IPX7 rating (=European name for JIS7) which means:
The unit can withstand accidental immersion in one meter of water for up to 30 minutes.

I have never seen a VHF radio that is rated better than 7 in a normal store. Are there any out there at reasonable prices?

let check tonight
l

Your rigth it is the 260 sorry

thanks i wondered if that was it

– Last Updated: Apr-05-05 7:22 AM EST –

Thank you, I wondered if the fully submersible was not accurate.

I went to raymarine site you are right ipx 7 only. 8 is submersible.