I can't paddle straight!

I’m a newbie with one basic lesson under my PFD. I’ve been out maybe 8 times on flatwater in my Dagger Specter (16.5’ Airlite touring sea kayak). I jut can’t seem to paddle straight (no rudder).

Now it’s not like I’m zigging and zagging all over. Rather, I seem to favor one side and make a slow turn towards it regardless of how hard I dig in to go the other way. The favored side changes from time to time.

I know I must be missing some little piece of technique like not putting equal pressure on both thighs. I will be taking lessons next month before I head out for anything serious (for one thing, I won’t even consider using my spray skirt until I’ve had lessons with it) but I thought some of you could offer simple advice in the meantime.

Thanks

typical for a beginner
you just need instruction and practice.

Even strokes. Torso rotation.
Keep the blade as straight up and down as possible on each side of the hull as you stroke. One practice I was taught strictly to demonstrate torso involvement was to hold my paddle out in from of my chest with arms bent. Without moving arms, rotate and bend torso to get a (very) rudimentary stroke going on each side of the hull. Remember to lock your arms and not use them for this demo. Do this a few times to feel your torso’s role in paddling, then unlock your arms while still doing the torso thing and gradually start adjusting your arms to improve paddle placement in the water until your arms are putting the blade in rather than your torso bend. Then stop the torso bend entirely and use torso rotation coupled with arm placement memory to establish blade insertion on each stroke. For a clean up and down paddle shaft on each side of the hull your opposing arm will be across your chest horizontally and your paddle shaft will be as perfectly vertical as is possible without banging the blade against the side of the hull each stroke.

Kinda hard to verbalize… Works though.

Have fun Tom!

Steer From the Rear