I Could Use Some Good Advice

My wife and I have been kayaking for many years, using singles and a very large tandem. Recently we replaced our Honda Pilot with a Yukon XL— a much taller vehicle.

Any suggestions on roof racks that would provide some ease of loading? We had been using J-hooks for the two singles, or when taking out the tandem, we’d rest it flat down on foam blocks. (This is an old Perception Jocasse that weighs approximately the same as a small aircraft carrier.)

Any advice on j-hooks versus saddles or just any suggestions to help out a couple 64-year-olds? Thanks much.

I have an old Land Rover Discovery that we use for hauling our kayaks around and in order for my wife and I to easily load the boats on its very high roof, I had to buy Thule Hullivator racks.

1 Like

Thule Hullavator. While $$$, cheaper than medical bills for bad backs and the ease of loading will keep you paddling into your 80s and beyond.

3 Likes

I have a handmade tandem kayak that is 20 feet long and 3+ Ft wide it weighs about 100 Lbs. I load it by myself, The trick is to load it sideways, in other words slide it onto the roof from the side of the vehicle so it is laying across the roof then simply rock it as you turn it facing forward, center it and tie it down. If you don’t have roof racks running lengthwise on the vehicle I suggest laying a piece of carpet or a towel to protect your paint.

Hullivator if you can afford it, stackers or glide pads using something like the Amgansett Roller Loader if you can’t. Longer bars than probably with the Jracks to give you more single room on aiming the boat.

ANYTHING but Jracks. I shake my head every time I see a relatively new car with those things. I load boats that are a third of my weight solo on what have become increasingly tall roofs. Jracks would never have worked for me in shorter cars, let alone the last decade as the cars got taller.

1 Like