I think I found a Kayak

I’m a total beginner never paddling a kayak in my life.

Been trying to find a good, longer, day trip sort of kayak, because I think that is how I want to go.

I’m 5’7" and 170 pounds.

I found a great, used Perception Corona on Craigslist that is local. I plan to go see it. 500.00 with paddle, hull cover and rudder. Says always kept inside when not on the water, transported the right way and in excellent condition. It does look awesome from the pictures I saw…it’s a 14 footer…small enough to be handy and a river rat, but has length and storge for some nice day trips. this is what I am looking for.

Thing is, research tells me the Corona is very tipsy and not for the timid. I plan to start off in very shallow water and get some basic lessons from a local rafting outfit.

So…is this my ship? anyone have an opinion about the Corona?

Thanks!!

edit
There is also a listing for a Current Designs Squall and a Wilderness systems Tsunami.

550 for the Squall with rudder and 750 for the Tsunami. Both are said in excellent shape and stored inside.

Hard to decide…can’t drive around to see all of them.

Get the Squall
IMHO - best of the three

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

fb.me/theriverconnection

what type of water?
What types of water are you considering paddling? You mention about getting instructions from rafting company - and they normally work in white water (moving) rivers. Is this the paddling you will be doing?

I was also thinking that Squall would be good. It’s 16.5 inch, rudder says hardly used for 550.00

On youtube it says they are good for smaller and mid size people…I guess I’m mid size at 5’7" and 170 pounds. Can’t be too picky about fitting in it, becausse it’s 550 dollars and used. If it seems to be too big of a fit I can always trade torwards another…at least I’ll know what I need and I’ll actually get on the water in a kayak…finally.