IK ok for first kayak?

I live in a condo (limited storage space) on Puget Sound just south of Seattle. I’m a beginner kayaker (one class so far) and I’m planning on getting my first kayak soon. Due to no storage I’m looking at inflatables and have narrowed it down to Advanced Elements Advancedframe AE1012-R or Stearns Yukatat. Anyone have any input that will help me make a decision? Thanks!

There are 2 kayak shops
in town that offer boat storage, Seattle raft and Kayak and Northwest Outdoor Center.

Dogmaticus

How windy is it there?
Inflatables are no fun in wind.

That being said Audrey Sutherland has paddled them a lot in Hawaii and Alaska and is a famous proponent of them…

http://www.seakayakermag.com/2004/Oct04/Sutherland_1.htm

Another option is a folding kayak which is much more expensive.

Personally I would try to find a friend or relative that would let you store a hard shelled boat.

Sonnet
http://www.yostwerks.com

look at the sonnet inflatables.

I am making one.

Paul

This guy paddles IKs
and is close to you (relatively), paddling in similar conditions to what you describe:

http://paddlesheep.blogspot.com/

I think IK’s are great for beginners because of the stability and the added safety. Just get one that performs well and is relatively fast, or you will get frustrated quickly. As Seadart said, stay away from windy conditions - you will probably be safe in an IK, but not having very much fun.

I believe the Seattle area is home to Innova. I don’t know, but it would be worth some research to see if you could demo some of their models.

I’d watch craigslist
for a folding kayak. Something should show up in your area. Be patient. Meanwhile rent one at NWOC.

Wind
I’ve never had any real problems paddling an inflatable in the wind. Had a lot more problems with a rudderless hardshell in wind than I ever had with inflatables.

folders