Impex Force 4 or OI

-- Last Updated: Jul-10-06 6:54 PM EST --

Can an 18 foot boat be fine as mainly a day boat and what criteria should i use to select from these two boats-each of which I enjoyed test paddling?

I am pursuing the purchase of the Impex Force 4 or OI and no other, after favorable test paddling vs. other boats. I am desiring a less rockered and faster boat than my current Impex Montauk. Typical paddling: Straight fresh water lake touring ( 5 to 8 miles one way-narrow Finger Lakes) and rolling as desired. Once or twice a year one-night camping trips. Me: 5, 7 and 170 lbs.

I realize that the Force 4 is marketed as an Expedition boat but I found it turned and manuevered fine for exploring coves and bays. I had no issue turning the OI, but tested it on calm water only.

My major issue and concern on these 18 footers. . .the opinion that these boats will be faster than my Montauk, getting them up to cruising speed will be tiresome for someone of my build size.

Thanks for your comments,

Howard
Central NY State

I have an OI
and have paddled the force 4 a bit. You are right it is a larger volume boat. It handles very well and probably would do better with more weight in it than just my 200 lbs. You can definitely pack it and you can certainly roll it but you will certainly be rolling more volume around than say with an OI.

However, the OI is a lower volume boat. I suspect it is faster but again that is probably a factor of the engine. The boat is very easy to roll and I have no real problems turning it. The force 4 probably turns better though. Having said that, the OI handles superbly in open swells and ocean. I would not surf it.

It sounds to me as if you have already decided on the OI anyway.

Regards,

Paul

some thoughts…