Improve flotation of a 10" rec kayak

Hi All,
First time here and generally new to kayaking. Recently purchased a simple rec. kayak made by Pelican and took it out a few times. All is good, it’s stable and I have no issues really.
I started learning the paddle float self-rescue and all went well until it didn’t and I swamped the thing. I tried different things but ended up having to drag it ashore to drain. I didn’t like the fact that I couldn’t handle it while floating in the water. Basically when I managed to get in it was floating under the waterline (not sinking though).
So, I read things here and there and decided to stuff the thing with pool noodles. Since I am not getting anywhere near water until the weekend to test it out, I thought I would ask if I am doing the right thing.
Attached is the pic of the kayak. The blue line is where the factory installed foam blocks are (I can’t tell how far they go into the stern). The red area is packed tight with 3 55" pool noodles on each side. By my very rough (and possibly incorrect) estimate this should allow for about 35lb of additional flotation.
The kayak itself is about 35 lb and I am 160 lb. As is, it was not sinking while completely swamped and me sitting in it, but it was an inch or two under water. I am hoping to achieve enough of a lift so I can get in and start bailing the water out.

Any thoughts, comments, etc? Am I on the right track here?

Thank you.

The kayak specs are attached as well:

Your general idea of displacing water is fine, but people usually use float bags. Stuff like pool noodles often finds a way to pop out when the boat is upside down. Curiously, inflatable beach b.alls often stay better secured.

But float bags - inflatable plastic bags that will hold air - work the best. It can be a challenge to anchor them so they don’t pop out in basic rec boats like this, but you can try securing them to the footpegs or gluing in D-rings to hold them. And they don’t add a lot of weight to the boat.