in need of dutch oven recipes

I am going on a canoe trip and will be bringing my new dutch oven. i have never used one before and would like to know if you have any tips. do i grease it? etc... also these are the things i am planning to cook in it. corn bread, breakfast biscuits, blueberry muffins and baked potatoes.. how long do i cook these? thanks for your help as my group will have a more pleasant camping experience with it!

dutch ovens
If there’s a Boy Scout supply store near you, they have a small book on dutch oven cooking that covers it pretty well. I believe it’s called “Dutch Oven Cooking”.0

First

– Last Updated: Jul-22-05 2:11 PM EST –

Take some aluminum foil and cover the thing (inside) with it, keeps it cleaner and no need for oil. When you clean it you'll want to coat it with veggie oil before storing it.

Then you take One box of white cake mix, 2 cans of cherries, and for softer "crust" about 4 ounces of sprite.

Put cherries on aluminum (in pot) and mix in sprite. Mix together carefully (dont want to tear the aluminum foil) and pour the cake mix evenly over the top. Takes maybe 20 min to 40 min, untill cherries are boiling (you'll see it break through cake mix) - its done, and it's hot. Dont forget to place some coals on top to even out the heat.

Cherry Cobbler :)

material?
cast iron or aluminum? I like aluminum.

iron needs seasoning, aluminium not. and rust.

bake as in an oven tho I generally make the recipe a little dry. for heat I use charcoal. take the diameter of the oven in inches and add one for the top and divide in half for the bottom.

my 10" pan gets 11 on top/ 5 under. this gives you a 350-400 degree oven.

wait 5-10 minutes after you can smell the item in the oven for doneness. generally 25-40 minutes.

cold and/or wind will increase time and charcoal needs.

brownies and gingerbread are EZ and yummy.

good luck

steve

Dutch Ovens