Inflatable kayak?

I am thinking about getting a friend an inflatable as a gift. He would mainly be paddling in Midwestern lakes by himself. Right now, he is mostly a canoer but is interested in kayaks.

Are inflatable a good option for a beginning kayaker to use on a lake? Or are they still mostly toys and not a good option.

If an inflatable is a good bet – are there inexpensive ones I should look at?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

I Like My Stearns
I have several hard kayaks, but I still use my Stearns when I want to get out onto the water, but do not feel like loaading boats onto the racks.

Probably best for boaters under 175#

I’m fairly new to kayaking…
but I started out using a friends inflatable Stearns kayak, mostly on a mountain lake, and I decided then and there to forget the inflatables. Slow going and non responsive, unless windy out. It was responsive to the wind…blew around. My husband tried it on the river, no current and was very unimpressed. He kept trying to “steal” mine from me…I told him to go buy his own. lol (did I mention that I left him far behind, easily?) Oh yea, he loved that!

ooops Baracuda!
We must have posted at the sametime! Too funny. I know your wife has a Venus, I love mine. Didn’t mean to put the Stearns down, but for me and my husband, it wasn’t great. But, remember, we are newbies, so it could be something we are doing.

Pretty Much Correct
You are right. An inflatable will not match the performance of a hard shell kayak.

But if you already have a hard shell it makes a good extra boat when you just do not feel like going to the trouble to rack a hard shell boat.

It also makes a good extra when you need three boats and only have room for two on the rack.

I also packed mine into some lakes in the Sierras where you could never get a hard shell.

Also good for people who do not have racks or storage room.

same question