INFLATABLE KAYAKS?

I’M new to kayaking, bought a used rec. dagger last year. since then I have had several try out

my boat and fell in love with it. Now all of them

are going to get a kayak this year, But they have all been considering inflatable one’s.

Can anyone tell me about the pro’s & con’s of owning a inflatable?. I have never been in one neither have they. I just can’t see how they could be as durable as my plastic

Inflatables
Check out www.Innovakayak.com as well as www.TopKayaker.com At the latter web site Tom has done a good write-up on inflatables.

theboatpeople.com
Lots of good information on their site.

I haven’t used an IK in any significant way. They have a reputation (if you pay for a good one) for being very durable. You don’t want to spear them on iron rod, of course, but they can handle whitewater and long trips.

– Mark

IK Distinctions.
Just as with hardshells, there is a vast difference in quality in inflatable yaks. You/your friends really will get what you pay for (I know, aside from hard boats, I also own three IKs of different brands, ranging in price from $300 to $1300).

For whitewater, stick with high-end (and pricier)name brand boats that are self-bailing, like Aire, Innova, NRS or Sea Eagle. (Don’t expect any of these boats to track really well. WW IK’s are made to pivot quickly to get around obstacles in fast flowing current.)

For rec-lite touring, Advanced Elements or Stearns make very durable products. Cheaper priced “pool toy” inflatables, are not welded all that great at the seams, lack the material strength of their higher priced counterparts, and will come apart after a limited time of use (as in, sooner, rather than later). IK’s are great to carry on vacation, and very forgiving

in challenging conditions.

Wet butt?