Inflatable PFDs. What do you know?

I’m thinking of buying an inflatable PFD.It’s been very hot the last few weeks. I’ve found myself leaving my PFD off to stay cool. I figure I might be more apt to keep one on during the summer heat. Maybe a belt style. I have no experience with these and am looking for someone who has been around them and can guide me. I paddle wide rivers in NE IL 90% of the time. What do you think?

Stormy Seas Inflatable PFD
Can be worn without a shirt and has not chaffed me yet. In fact, I wore it under my race jersey during a 32 mile open ocean race and forgot I was still wearing it until I went to take a shower.

I have one.
But I rarely use it. Only on easy flat water when fishing in extreme heat. I never use it on moving water where there is any chance of swimming.

A few reasons:

1. You never really know if it will inflate when you need it. The only way to know is to test it - then you have to re-arm it, and won’t really know until you test it.

2. Once inflated, the gas cartridge is spent and must be replaced to quickly inflate again.

3. In a moving-water swim, it may be difficult to grab the lanyard (mine isn’t automatic, and I wouldn’t want an automatic one since I get in the water to cool off sometimes).

4. As I understand it, an automatic inflater can easily inflate when you don’t want it to.

5. My PFD’s have pockets that I use. My inflatable does not.

6. If I’m hot, it’s easy to cool off by getting wet. A cotton boonie hat or bandana is really useful for staying cool. Just dip it in the water and put it back on.

I usually don’t’ see temps above 105f here, but I suspect it wouldn’t make a difference to me if I did.

Astral V-8