info on woodsman canoe

I’m interested in purchasing a used woodsman canoe. I have no other info, but I was told it was not the woodsman III. would anyone have any information on this. I’m just getting into canoeing and am looking for something for lake camping and few day river trips.

I think a few companies were pushing Woodsman canoes: Dagger/Mad River, Bell. The grab handles/top decks look like Mad River Canoe. Check the hull ID on the brass name plate, which would begin with MAD and end with two numbers indicating the year of manufacture. Looks to be Royalex. I believe I read somewhere that the Mad River woodsman was the Horizon 15, which you can read about here: http://www.madrivercanoe.com/us/sites/default/files/2006%20Mad%20River%20Catalog.pdf

It was made by a manufacturer for a big box store which sells them under a different name.
I agree check the serial number; and the first three letters are a code for the manufacturer.

This same discussion came up about ten years ago re the Woodsman Canoe sold by Dicks Sporting goods. Its a convoluted tale for sure. Happy reading!
https://forums.paddling.com/discussion/501503/dicks-woodsman-again

There were a number of different “Woodsman” canoes which were different hulls. I believe that is a Woodsman III. The Woodsman hulls were molded by major manufacturers like Bell and Dagger, and then sold to franchise sporting good stores which trimmed them. The trim quality varies. All the Woodsmans I have seen have been that drab green color Royalex. The Woodsman III is a quite decent hull.

Here is another thread that might be helpful:

http://forums.paddling.com/discussion/1706277/galyans-woodsman-iii-aka-bell-northwind

My Woodsman III is the non-Northwind version - no tumblehome.

I appreciate all of the information. the name plate reads “WEMSPARNE606”. I was told it was 16’. Purchased in Colorado.

manufacturer ID WEM pulled up CONFLUENCE WATER SPORTS. which does list Dagger and Mad river as two of their brands.