Informal Poll - Best iPhone Case

Plenty of buzz about a "budget’ iPhone release

to occur late summer, early autumn of 2013.

Surely some take their current iPhone out with them.

What is your favorite waterproof case for an iPhone ?

Are you listening to tunes during workouts,

or just taking it along to catch up during rest stops ?

Tons of ““comparative”” review like this exist

–but few are from actual real kayakers

http://www.gadgetreview.com/2012/12/10-of-the-best-waterproof-iphone-5-cases.html

lifeproof
I’ve been using mine in the front pocket of my pfd for several months several times a week. Surfski paddling tends to be a fairly wet deal and no issues. Bonus being your spouse can use the find my friends app to check up on your location.

Reviews for all majors include failures.
Including the Lifeproof and Otter Box.

Lifeproof
I’ve used 4 different waterproof iPhone cases. One big pelican type case failed and ruined a phone. Others were effective, but had to be removed for charging. Lifeproof is awesome. Slim, fully functional, so I leave it on all the time. It keeps dust out of my phone too, since I often have dirty pockets.

I don’t keep my phone in my PFD, rather it’s in a drybag in my day hatch. I don’t have a need for it all the time on the water, so I’d rather not take the few-hundred dollar risk of damaging it. But I know many folks who dunk their lifeproof case regularly, and report no problems.

Nate

+1
I will have my lifeproof covered iphone in my PFD when doing easy solo paddles and will even roll now and then to cool off. When doing more demanding (surf, etc.) I do stash in my day hatch to be extra safe (nothing is perfect). And yes my wife will follow along at times using the Find My Friends app. Sometimes I’ll snap some quick photos and text them back to my wife. Good to inspect and re-test (I put a tissue inside then dunk for a while) periodically.

What NOT to Get