Instructors- How do you deal with stress

This is my first summer giving kayaking lessons and programs, and I can’t dodge an overwhelming feeling of stress before each program. I’ve probably given 7 or 8 programs so far, but each one has felt as stressful as the first. Between the logistics, the gear, and the safety hazards, I feel like I can’t take a breath and actually enjoy what I’m doing. Any tips for making everything seem more manageable?

This is just unique to teaching kayaking for me. I’ve taught plenty of other outdoor programs (school programs, guided hikes, etc) without feeling anything near this level of stress.

call
Bill

It might help
if you provided a bit more information regarding your instructional programs. For instance:

What is the venue? Flat water? Moving water? Both?

What is the typical experience level of your students? Are they complete novices? Beginners or intermediates? A mix of experience levels?

What is the duration of your programs, i.e, how much time do you have available?

What is your typical student group size?

Do you have assistant instructors and/or safety boaters available? Or are you on your own?

Such programs often employ 2 or even 3
instructors, so that they can take turns in the presentation and support one another with critique. It is rare to instruct a group of complete newbies with just one instructor.

If you could share the task, I’ll bet your angst would decrease.

I think I see…

– Last Updated: Jul-23-15 11:36 AM EST –

I think I see where pblanc is going with his questions. If you respond to him; I'm sure you'll get some quality information.

I will go in a different direction...........

Why did you become an instructor in the first place?
Are you getting that "feel good" feeling, and a sense of accomplishment when you successfully complete a class?
Are you having any fun as an instructor?

Good instructors are few and far between, in my opinion.