Instructor's view on kayaks for class

-- Last Updated: Mar-27-09 9:45 AM EST --

Moving beyond my Greenland skill's question to all around classes for strokes, bracing, rolling, and maybe surf, what boats do instructors love to see their students show up with? Overall, I assume the 16 footers with good manueverability are favored. The posts clearly show the Romany at the top of the list. If you are a certified instructor teaching strokes, bracing, rescues, rolling, and maybe just intro surf, what boats rank up there as friendliest to develop skills in (not Greenland this time)?

Fit
As a student, my perception has been that the folks who have problems learning skills are often ones whose boats don’t fit them(usually too big), or who haven’t outfitted them. One of the biggest frustrations in a rolling class is falling out of your boat too soon, and I’ve seen a lot of that. Edge control is impossible when you’re sliding around in the cockpit.

Features like high seatbacks and high decks can hinder paddlers.

I’ve done some informal teaching, and my thoughts are:

Does the boat fit them?

Do they have a good fit in the boat?

Is the boat appropriate for the conditions we’re going to be in?

Is the boat appropriate for the skills they want to learn?

How long have they had it?

How comfortable are they in it?

Why this question?
I am curious what prompts this question. Desire to show up for instruction in a boat instructors like? Desire to have a boat that people think will make it easy to be a skilled paddler?

They
are the same skills…just a little differant aproach

Good paddlers , use the same skill set… it really doesn’t matter which paddle they chose to use…

Best Wishes

Roy

Not an instructor but
I have been known to be asked advice since, in a local motley crew I am often the only woman with both white hair and a roll. I also usually show up in boats that are outfitted for bigger water so people think I know what I am doing.