Interested but have a lot of questions!

So I have been watching some kayak camping videos on youtube and I am hooked! All of the fun of backpacking but instead of hiking I get to be on the water? Sign me up!

Here is the catch, I’ve never been in a kayak before, and looking at the sheer number of them, well it’s kinda overwhelming.

So here come the questions:

Lesson: I have awhile till next summer so I was planning on taking some lessons in the spring. Good idea? What should I look for in a lesson/instructor.

Kayak: I will probably buy my first one used. What are some names I should be looking for? Being a noob I will not be doing rapids and would like something pretty stable, with some room for packing enough gear to camp a few days, and of course inexpensive (relatively). I have the luxury of taking my time in shopping, but there are SO many different kayaks I am kind of overwhelmed.

Get lessons now if you can

– Last Updated: Aug-23-16 12:13 PM EST –

The single fastest way to figure out what kayak features you will want is to take a couple of basic classes to go over paddle strokes and learn about doing a self-assisted rescue. It is still warm and the window of comfort for being able to do this without paying extra fees for heated indoor pools is getting short.

Any coach that is certed by one of the major organizations (ACA or BCU/PNA) can do this. Where are you, so people here can recommend an outfitter?

Thanks!
I live near Denver, so anywhere in the Colorado Rockies would be good, have been whitewater rafting a few times in Glenwood Springs, good times!

Any recommendations would be welcome!

Found lessons, maybe?
Looks like I might be able to take the flat water lesson this Saturday and the two day river lessons next weekend through these guys, do they look like a good place for me to start?

http://raguides.com/

Go for it, considerations

– Last Updated: Aug-23-16 12:40 PM EST –